Congressman Bill Pascrell

Representing the 9th District of NEW JERSEY

How to Apply and Enroll

Coverage Options | General ACA Information

The Affordable Care Act creates a convenient and streamlined process for determining eligibility for the Health Insurance Marketplaces and NJ FamilyCare, New Jersey’s Medicaid program. This application can be completed online, by mail, by phone, or in person.

How to Apply Online
Visit www.healthcare.gov. This website is user-friendly and easy to navigate. Additionally, it is accessible for the visually impaired. This website is available in Spanish at www.cuidadodesalud.gov.

How to Apply by Phone
The Call Center will be available 7 days a week, 24 hours a day, and will have 9,000 employees in 11 states who can answer ACA-related questions in more than 100 languages. The Call Center can be reached at 1-800-318-2596 or 1-855-889-4325 (TTY).

How to Apply in Person
In person assisters will be available to help prepare electronic and paper applications to establish eligibility and to enroll in coverage through the Marketplace. These in person assisters are certified as Navigators, Certified Application Counselors, as well as health insurance agents and brokers. (Click here for a list of In-Person Assisters in the 9th District or visit https://localhelp.healthcare.gov/).

MEDICAID EXPANSION
New Jersey will expand eligibility for its Medicaid program to adults ages 19 – 64 with incomes up to 138% of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) ($16,104/year for an individual, $32,913/year for a family of 4).

How to Enroll in Medicaid:

  • Medicaid eligibility can be determined through healthcare.gov, with the help of navigators or through the Call Center.
  • However, after determining their eligibility, consumers will need to sign up for Medicaid through the State of New Jersey (it cannot be done through healthcare.gov or the Call Center).

Three Ways to Enroll in Medicaid
 

Sign Up Online: njfamilycare.org or njhelps.org

Sign Up Through Mail: An application for Medicaid can be downloaded from njfamilycare.org or call 1-800-701-0710 to request that an application be mailed to you.

Sign Up In Person: At your local County Welfare Office.

  • Bergen County Bergen County Board of Social Services
    216 Route 17 North
    Rochelle Park, NJ 07662
    (201) 368-4200 | Fax: (201) 368-8710
     
  • Hudson County Hudson County Dept. of Family Services
    Division of Welfare
    257 Cornelison Ave.
    Jersey City, NJ 07302
    (201) 420-3000 | Fax: (201) 395-4622
     
  • Passaic County Passaic County Board of Social Services
    80 Hamilton Street
    Paterson, NJ 07505-2060
    973) 881-0100 | Fax: (973) 881-3232