Skip to Content



Press Releases

Pascrell, Colleagues Lead Ukraine Victory Resolution

Congressman Bill Pascrell, Jr. (D-NJ-09) joined 18 colleagues in introducing the Ukraine Victory Resolution in the House of Representatives last week. The bipartisan resolution affirms that it is the policy of the United States to see Ukraine victorious against the Russian invasion, holds that the peace brought by victory must be secured by integrating Ukraine into NATO, and declares that the United States must work with its allies and partners to secure reparations, reconstruction, justice for Russian war crimes, and accountability for Russian leaders.

"For the last two years, the Ukrainian people have been fighting for their very survival,” said Congressman Pascrell. “Russia is pursuing a war of extermination against Ukraine. Russians are butchering women and children, destroying cities, and seeking nothing less than the very extinguishment of Ukraine as a nation-state. Against all odds, Ukraine has fought back and is winning. But Ukraine can only expel the invaders with the full, unremitting help of the civilized world. I have long supported military aid to our brothers and sisters in Ukraine. We must arm Ukraine with the weapons it needs to ensure Ukrainian victory and save countless innocent lives. Our resolution today reaffirms our unwavering committment to an absolute Ukrainian victory."

Ukraine regained its independence in 1991 after three centuries of Moscow’s imperial rule. In 1994, the United States encouraged Ukraine to abandon its arsenal of nuclear weapons, the third largest in the world at the time, in exchange for security assurances in the Budapest Memorandum. The Ukrainians have had two revolutions since independence, the 2004 Orange Revolution and the 2014 Revolution of Dignity, demonstrating their commitment to shared ideals of democracy and freedom and their desire for Euro-Atlantic integration.

In 2008, at the Bucharest NATO Summit, NATO states declared, “NATO welcomes Ukraine’s and Georgia’s Euro-Atlantic aspirations for membership in NATO. We agree today that these countries will become members of NATO.” Russia initially invaded Ukraine in 2014 and massively escalated its invasion in 2022.  In 2022, the UN General Assembly called on member states to create a mechanism for reparations to be paid to Ukraine. In 2023, the United States issued a finding that Russian officials have committed crimes against humanity.

Original cosponsors of the resolution in the House of Representatives include: Steve Cohen (TN-09), Joe Wilson (SC-02), Mike Lawler (NY-17), Richard Hudson (NC-09), Emanuel Cleaver (MO-05), Brian Fitzpatrick (PA-01), Sheila Jackson Lee (TX-18), Mike Quigley (IL-05), Doug Lamborn (CO-05), Bill Pascrell (NJ-08), Maria Elvira Salazar (FL-27), Brendan Boyle (PA-02), Lloyd Doggett (TX-37), Deborah Ross (NC-02), Jim Costa (CA-21), David Trone (MD-06), Joe Morelle (NY-25), Susan Wild (PA-07), and Marcy Kaptur (OH-09).

    Back to top