Congress of the United States Washington, DC 20515

March 20, 2020

The Honorable Nancy Pelosi Speaker U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515 The Honorable Kevin McCarthy Minority Leader U.S. House of Representatives Washington, DC 20515

Dear Speaker Pelosi and Leader McCarthy:

As Congress considers further legislation in response to the COVID-19 pandemic, we urge you to include support for our nation's first responders, especially fire and emergency medical services (EMS), who are serving on the frontlines of this outbreak. First responders are routinely in physical contact with potentially infected persons as pre-hospital health care providers. During this public health emergency, the continued work and support of our first responders is vital.

We understand firefighters and paramedics across the country are in short supply of the necessary personal protective equipment (PPE) to guard against disease exposure.¹ First responders access to PPE, particularly N95 respirators, helps limit spread of the disease and ensures our nation's first responders remain healthy so they can continue to serve our communities. We urge you to bolster resources for fire and EMS departments so they can access PPE by increasing funding for emergency Assistance to Firefighter (AFG) grants and prioritizing delivery of these resources through the national strategic stockpile.

Fire and EMS personnel work in one of the highest risk occupations for COVID-19 exposure. However, first responders have faced severe testing shortages.² A dearth of testing has led many first responders to self-isolate or quarantine. This has left departments with staffing gaps that must be backfilled, often with increased use of overtime. Fire and EMS departments must be fully equipped to respond emergencies. We urge you increase funding for emergency Staffing for Adequate Fire and Emergency Response (SAFER) grants and direct the Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) to expeditiously disperse federal funds to departments in need. To ensure grant recipients can use SAFER grants for costs related current employee needs and overtime, we urge including language mandating the Secretary of the Department of Homeland Security to grant waivers to SAFER recipients for the ability to use funds for overtime, backfill needs, and employee retention in addition to hiring.

During a time of crisis, it is necessary communities can continue to rely on local first responders for protection and emergency response. Congress must ensure fire and EMS departments have

² <u>https://www.nytimes.com/interactive/2020/03/15/business/economy/coronavirus-worker-risk.html</u>

access to PPE, testing, and receive much-needed staffing support so that our nation's first responders can operate at full capacity as we face the COVID-19 pandemic.

Sincerely,

Biel Pascrule fr

Bill Pascrell, Jr. Co-Chair, Fire Services Caucus

Steny H. Hoyer Co-Chair, Fire Services Caucus

Brian Fitzpatrick Member of Congress

Julia Brownley Member of Congress

Jamie Raskin Member of Congress

Gerald E. Connolly Member of Congress

Alan Lowenthal Member of Congress

Andy Kim Member of Congress

Cheri Bustos Member of Congress

lete trung

Peter T. King Co-Chair, Fire Services Caucus

Mike Bost Co-Chair, Fire Services Caucus

Tim Ryan Member of Congress

Jackie Speier Member of Congress

Chris Pappas Member of Congress

Mike Doyle Member of Congress

Gilbert R. Cisneros, Jr. Member of Congress

Debbie Dingell Member of Congress

Peter A. DeFazio Member of Congress Rashida Tlaib Member of Congress

Joseph P. Kennedy, II Member of Congress

Gwen Moore Member of Congress

Vicente Gonzalez Member of Congress

Bobby L. Rush Member of Congress

Al Green Member of Congress

David Trone Member of Congress

Barbara Lee Member of Congress

Anthony Brindisi Member of Congress

Darren Soto Member of Congress

Lee Zeldin Member of Congress Lisa Blunt Rochester Member of Congress

Eleanor Holmes Norton Member of Congress

Salud Carbajal Member of Congress

Abby Finkenauer Member of Congress

Andy Levin Member of Congress

Alcee L. Hastings Member of Congress

Joe Courtney Member of Congress

Josh Gottheimer Member of Congress

Pramila Jayapal Member of Congress

Jahana Hayes Member of Congress

Suzan DelBene Member of Congress John B. Larson Member of Congress

Susan W. Brooks Member of Congress

Harley Rouda Member of Congress

Emanuel Cleaver, II Member of Congress

Cindy Axne Member of Congress

Ruben Gallego Member of Congress

Haley M. Stevens Member of Congress

Albio Sires Member of Congress

Marcia L. Fudge Member of Congress

Danny K. Davis Member of Congress

Thomas R. Suozzi Member of Congress C.A. Dutch Ruppersberger Member of Congress

Sean Casten Member of Congress

Brian Higgins Member of Congress

Jesús G. "Chuy" García Member of Congress

Donald M. Payne, Jr. Member of Congress

Donna E. Shalala Member of Congress

Bill Foster Member of Congress

Brendan F. Boyle Member of Congress

Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez Member of Congress

Chrissy Houlahan Member of Congress

Cedric L. Richmond Member of Congress Yvette D. Clarke Member of Congress

Mark Takano Member of Congress

Ed Perlmutter Member of Congress

Brad Sherman Member of Congress

Linda T. Sánchez Member of Congress

Eddie Bernice Johnson Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Peter Welch Member of Congress

Tom Malinowski Member of Congress

Susie Lee Member of Congress

Mike Thompson Member of Congress

Jerry McNerney Member of Congress Madeleine Dean Member of Congress

Carolyn B. Maloney Member of Congress

Tony Cardenas Member of Congress

Ilhan Omar Member of Congress

Debbie Mucarsel-Powell Member of Congress

Jared Huffman Member of Congress

Joe Neguse Member of Congress

Max Rose Member of Congress

Kathleen M. Rice Member of Congress

Anna G. Eshoo Member of Congress

Elaine G. Luria Member of Congress

Ami Bera, M.D. Member of Congress Paul D. Tonko Member of Congress

Ben Ray Luján Member of Congress

Henry C. "Hank" Johnson, Jr. Member of Congress

Ted Deutch Member of Congress

José E. Serrano Member of Congress

Adam Smith Member of Congress

Mark Pocan Member of Congress

Daniel W. Lipinski Member of Congress

Stephen F. Lynch Member of Congress

Dave Loebsack Member of Congress

Hakeem Jeffries Member of Congress

Ben McAdams Member of Congress Ann McLane Kuster Member of Congress

A. Donald McEachin Member of Congress

Dianna DeGette Member of Congress

Bonnie Watson Coleman Member of Congress

Ayanna Pressley Member of Congress

Jennifer Wexton Member of Congress

Sanford D. Bishop, Jr. Member of Congress

Gregory W. Meeks Member of Congress

David Scott Member of Congress

Mikie Sherrill Member of Congress

Jerrold Nadler Member of Congress

Angie Craig Member of Congress Rick Larsen Member of Congress Xochitl Torres Small Member of Congress

Grace F. Napolitano Member of Congress